My name is Aaron and I am currently in my last semester in the Faculty of Education. I’m an after degree student in the Elementary program. I also have an Arts degree with a double major in Sociology and Pyschology. This is my 8th year at the university and I will be glad to be done in April. I am looking forward to finally becoming a teacher and having my own classroom.

I am very close with my family, especially my mom and still currently live with her. I also have a younger brother who has been married for about a year and a half. I also have a wonderful boyfriend who I have been with for almost a year and a half. He recently put an offer on a house and I will be moving in with him in the next few months. I grew up in Regina and have lived here all of my life. I did move to Swift Current last semester to do my internship though. It was great experience and I’m glad I got the opportunity to live in a smaller place. I’m not sure that I would ever move there but if I had to for some reason, I don’t think it would be that bad. I love to read, although I don’t get to read as often as I would like, except for textbooks. I also love to travel and have been to Switzerland, Italy, France, Cuba, California, Florida and Arizona and have many more places on my list to visit.

I wouldn’t call myself an expert when it comes to technology but I do a lot of things on the computer and feel fairly comfortable with it. If I don’t know how to do something on the computer, I usually just play around with it until I figure it out. I had a computer club at lunch at the school that I interned at and had the students go on some educational websites. Their favourite one seemed to be http://www.starfall.com. There are some other websites that I used that I will post later on.

I really like the idea of having technology in the classroom. I am really interested in having a smart board in my classroom. I haven’t really had much of a chance to use one and would love to opportunity to try it out. I have heard there are many neat things that you can do with it. I love how you can connect with people around the world and believe this can have many benefits when doing projects with students in the classroom. Facebook and Twitter have become very popular and are a good way to stay connected with people across the world. I myself have not used Twitter before but I would be willing to give it a try.

I am hoping that I will learn about different applications I can use in my classroom. There are so many out there and I have only heard about some of them. I have tried a few, such as facebook and youtube but really want to expand my horizons. I am excited to have all these resources that I can take to my classroom and try them out with my students. The excitement for this class has already begun!

